Poet Lost – A Found Poem

We have lost a poet, a friend. Viv Blake, known to most as Viv In France, was a regular at many of the online Poetry forums. She was a regular contributor of fine poetry, and a dedicated reader of other poets work. She was one of the first to follow me here, and if I look at my stats page she sits at the top as my most frequent commenters, by a large margin. Always polite, always encouraging, forever finding a positive thing to say, even when it was clear she was less than enthused. She was also my most dedicated proofreader, making sure any mistake I made did not linger and cause me embarrassment.

I did not know her well enough to write anything for her, or about her, but there are pages upon pages in my comments with her name attached. I have created a found poem of her words. The following consists only of comments she has left on my work, and I think there is a kernel of her there. I hope she would find it worthy of stopping by. Goodbye Viv, you will be missed.

In Viv’s Words

Your memories make a sublime poem,
I just wish it wasn’t so real.

I know that feeling. Halfway between awe and shivering.

I like all your shelves of books and photos – we seekers need them to feed us.
I love this one.
This one brought a lump to my throat –
not a word wasted.
A story which is greater than the few words which contain it,
Poignant but beautiful. No regrets,
not a word wasted,
we mustn’t let those memories disappear.
I thank God that there are still books to be read.

I share your despair
at this unfair world.
I can only ask: Where
will it end?
Keep your chin up.

I would weep for a fallen oak,
loving and calm,
waiting for warmth, for renaissance,
to start living again.
When the cherry blossom falls in April,
I experience a similar lightening of spirit.
There are enough problems in this life
without spoiling the pleasures with guilt.
So glad I don’t live in a city!

Sad to say, this is profoundly true,
I can’t pretend that I care what happens to my ashes,
but the children assure us that it matters to them.
A sad truth, your last line will stay with me.

5 Comments

Filed under Poetry

5 responses to “Poet Lost – A Found Poem

  1. What an awful morning. Read about Dallas first..then found out about Viv.
    Thank you for sharing the sad news, and for the fine tribute to Viv.

  2. Pingback: Farewell Viv | sasha a. palmer

  3. I “met” Viv at dVerse just about a year ago. Your words here, and her words, are a wonderful wonderful tribute to her. Thank you so very much for posting. It is so very sad to know her voice is stilled — her words are frozen and will flow no more. Have gone back and reread many of her poems these last days. A special special woman.

  4. She was a dear friend. A lovely woman. I will miss her. So much.

  5. What a clever way to pay tribute to a lovely lady.

Some of what I write is true, some is fiction; most is merely possibility.

