Upon Reading the Poems of Mary Oliver, In Which She Refers to the Poet in Third Person

I write as often as I may
a poem or a chapter,
a recounting of the hours
of the day, or the days
that can pass in the course
of a night.

I write as often as I may
of laughter, but tears
frequently fall, searches
of joy where anger
is normally found.

I write as often as I may,
trying to expound
on the mundane found
in the spectacular, and vain
attempts to simplify
the amazing.

I write as often as I may,
never quite satisfied with
the result. Maybe this is why
I follow the advice of a friend
and leave the titles of ‘author’
and ‘poet’ for others to bestow,

never referring to myself
as anything more than ‘writer’.

1 Comment

Filed under Poetry, Poetry - Prompts

One response to “Upon Reading the Poems of Mary Oliver, In Which She Refers to the Poet in Third Person

  1. Your diffidence makes a good poem, but I wish you lots of confidence, Poet.

Some of what I write is true, some is fiction; most is merely possibility.

