I Saw it in a Frosted Window Pane

Lights glitter and shadows move,
glasses clink and children laugh
though snow frosted windows.

Each lawn is covered in a blanket of white
and through every window I peer
lights glitter and shadows move.

I imagine laughter and singing by a fire —
while children explore beneath a tree —
though snow frosted windows.

Memories whisper of late night embraces,
slow dances and wishes granted where Christmas
lights glitter and shadows move.

Decisions force a change of perspective,
like the difference between looking out or in
through snow frosted windows.

The sky is clearest on the cold nights,
the stars close enough to hold.
Lights glitter and shadows move,
though snow frosted windows.

.

a villanelle, of sorts; stanza structure without the rhyme
scheme. Which, I guess, is not a villanelle at all. Anyway,
written for Kellie Elmore’s Free Write Friday prompt.

8 Comments

Filed under Poetry, Poetry - Prompts

8 responses to “I Saw it in a Frosted Window Pane

  1. Villanelle with rhyme! Nicely done, Mark. So very happy to see you around my place again. What a great surprise! Happy holidays!!!

  2. Looking out and looking in, I like this lots. I always wondered about the fire though, not having grown up with fireplaces. That made me worry about Santa too.

  3. do love the setting here and how you’ve taken two different viewpoints

  4. I love this altered villanelle. I really like the way you have adapted the form to the message you’ve wanted to convey. Difference between looking out and looking in……. nice! Merry Christmas!

  5. A satisfying read, no matter what you choose to call it!

  6. Love this Mark! Very nicely done.

Some of what I write is true, some is fiction; most is merely possibility.

