Schizophrenic Accountant/Poet

Order,
yes, this is what I crave,
numbers, neatly penned
in adjacent columns when
totaled balance exactly.

Free!
…….this is my verse, my style,
….my expression. be gone
tedious forms, stay away
………..wretched meter and rhyme.

Order
I say! Everything in its place
with proper color-coded
labels, life lived by a schedule.

Free!
damn the conventions
….and stuffy stanzas! I will write
……..in many colors
……all over the page while we
…………………………explore explosive
…………………………………………expressions.

.

.

Yep. This is pretty much me in a nutshell
I dug this out for the dVerse ‘numerology’ prompt,
Surprisingly, the descriptions fit my left/right brain
disfunction. And, yes, I really do accounting for a living.  

16 Comments

Filed under Poetry

16 responses to “Schizophrenic Accountant/Poet

  1. You should be tired more often ;-). This is serious playing and great fun.

  2. Great Poem! Who wants to be ”Normal”? :D. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Great poetry. The expression is feels like it was easily expressed. Not at all forced. I really enjoyed the read.

  4. Scriptor Obscura

    I love this. Love the humor in it, the contrast between the two personalities. Really good poem.

  5. Amazing… an accoutant, yet dislikes form.

  6. Your words sing to me, let me write anywhere I’ll be free !! Great job on the prompt !!

  7. I will write
    ……..in many colors
    ……all over the page while we
    …………………………explore explosive
    …………………………………………expressions…..ha.. yes…go on with writing in many colors…. neat and tidy isn’t my thing as well…smiles

  8. Your meter is quite flawless – just teasing 😉 great play here

  9. a man after my own heart…without form…yet still bringing order out of chaos…smiles…

  10. I like to write free-verse as well.. this gives you an opportunity to explore through many words and just write down.. writing at its best, I guess.. 🙂
    An interesting creation.. 🙂

  11. very me as well… always a tug of war between the dichotomies

  12. I can so relate to this, as I often note the right/left switch when a move to or from analytical or numerical work to more spacious types of thought.

  13. …i am an accountant by profession & i work with thousands & thousands of numbers & taxes a day… i can relate…aww… loved this… smiles…

  14. lavender raindrops

    How interesting that you crave both order and freedom. I guess we all do, really, in varying measures.

Some of what I write is true, some is fiction; most is merely possibility.

