Words in Need of Saying

What she was doing was wrong,
but I stayed quiet,
watching while she pawned
her pride for beauty
with the hope of finding a place
to belong.

Too much of life is spent
waiting for the bubble to bust.
In the end we turn our faces
to the fire, feel the heat,
expect the burn.

Pain often accompanies realization.
Self destruction rarely ends
without intervention.

She would continue unless I
spoke up — perhaps even then —
and she may not forgive me,
but I knew in the end I would
be more sorry if I was silent
than sad for the loss
of a friend.

 

(1/365) Self Destruction

(1/365) Self Destruction (Photo credit: Leasepics)

10 Comments

Filed under Poetry, Poetry - Prompts

10 responses to “Words in Need of Saying

  1. Very well written Mark, Very God.>KB

  2. Laurie Kolp

    I know what you’re talking about, Mark. It takes a lot of courage to intervene. Powerful piece, especially:

    Pain often accompanies realization.
    Self destruction rarely ends
    without intervention.

  3. I hate to repeat but no other word will do POWERFUL! “watching while she pawned her pride for beauty” a stirring statement grabbing the heart. Well done my friend well done!

  4. Mark, there are times we must say something when we see the self destruction of a friend. No matter the cost. Well said and powerful.

    Pamela

  5. jasmine calyx

    I like the way you left “I” and “I would” hanging at the ends of lines, emphasizing the weight of your own personal responsibility.

  6. yes, definitely speak up – sometimes it’s the silence that kills.

  7. So very powerful. It’s always such a hard decision.

  8. Mark, a wise piece indeed. Hard to stand by watching a person hurting themselves. A true friend will speak up, in love, and hope it is accepting in the same manner. Always risky, but I’m in the “speak up” camp. (I think you already knew that!) Definitely a strong write! Peace, Amy
    http://sharplittlepencil.com/2012/11/19/interview-with-sgt-davis-kabul-2012/

Some of what I write is true, some is fiction; most is merely possibility.

