The Clock

Precisely placed on the right hand
corner of my desk is a crystal clock.
Perfectly square, edges masterfully cut,
with a round timepiece set in the center.

Perhaps, if I could make it lay flat, it could
be used by my son for geometry assignments,
or, combined with a level, and a good deal of time,
a tool for my wife for perfect picture hanging.

Stretched a bit, more into an oval, the clock face
is the epitome of a racetrack, complete with competitors.
It is lacking somewhat in competitive nature, the victor
being predetermined, losers lapped repeatedly.

Remove the mechanism, hold it just so, and a prism
looking glass is revealed. Though, I do not think I
shall look through. The inner workings of time being
a mystery I do not care to witness.

No, for me, the clock shall remain a clock, a decoration
and an occasional conversation piece.
You may find in it interminable joys and flights of fancy,
for which I may indeed be envious for a time.

15 Comments

Filed under Poetry, Poetry - Prompts

15 responses to “The Clock

  1. Clever. I like the way you did and did not do the prompt. I like the poem. I think it’s one worth adding to your mountain 😉

  2. “lacking somewhat in competitive nature, the victor
    being predetermined, losers lapped repeatedly.”

    This made me smile… so true…can’t race against the hands of time. or they against each other.

    “The inner workings of time being
    a mystery I do not care to witness.”

    I agree…scary place.

    “You may find in it interminable joys and flights of fancy,
    for which I may indeed be envious for a time.”

    Love the play with the word time in the end.

    Well done, Mark!

  3. Love the racetrack. You can, in fact be silly. The but-of-course- predetermination reality check makes it even better.

  4. “for which I may indeed be envious for a time.”

    Contemplations on a time piece, a study in time. Really enjoyed reading this one. Nicely penned!

  5. Leo

    I also favored the third stanza; very visual.

  6. I really like this! Mark, you just keep getting better and better.

  7. Mark, I love the way you went outside the lines with the prompt and then back in, then out, then in… it works so well. A timely piece. 😉

Some of what I write is true, some is fiction; most is merely possibility.

