Pathways

“Do not go where the path may lead; go instead where there is no path and leave a trail”
Ralph Waldo Emerson

Far from the usual
ways are the paths
I travel.

Follow at your peril,
for you may not expect
where I lead.

You will find rare
revelations, magical
mysteries,

messages of hope, fear
and salvation. Along
the way will be perils:

love and hate, victory
and defeat.

My paths are not your paths,
but, if you have the courage

to go with me, you may find
what you seek,

perhaps even more.

"Finding the tool to unlock hidden pathwa...

“Finding the tool to unlock hidden pathways is a gift few people have – Unless you have a key.” (Photo credit: Jerrycharlotte)

For the Poets United Vice/Versa prompt.

12 Comments

Filed under Poetry, Poetry - Prompts

12 responses to “Pathways

  1. Yes, we can walk side by side with people along the way but, they cannot walk our path, can they. Nice write Mark 🙂

  2. As long as you carry the rucksack 🙂
    You are a bit pessimistic about the average size of people’s wordpower: I reckon 10K is nearer the mark.

  3. Honest and forthcoming! I love it!

  4. “Perhaps even more”… I like that….

  5. WOW put my pathways to shame what a talented writer you are love this!

  6. Somehow I suspect that many of us who write poetry follow paths that may be unfamiliar to many…it’s about the beat-of-your-own-drum thing. And I love it!

  7. Absolutely loved this! I want those rare revelations, magical mysteries. Oooh, I live for such. Well done!

  8. A poem that leaves one wanting more.

  9. I love this, Mark! Very mystical. We all want those messages of hope and salvation. I agree with the former commenter…I want more! Thanks for participating/ supporting Vice/Versa!

  10. This was a wonderful write, Mark. It’s an enticing invitation that promises nothing – and everything. Great answer to the prompt! Peace, Amy

Some of what I write is true, some is fiction; most is merely possibility.

