Limited Palette

Poets United asked for a poem based on the art of Jackson Pollock. I am much too literal minded to do justice to any kind of abstract art. I go with what I see, but that is about as far as I can go.

Jackson Pollock

Deep blacks and dark grays
dominate the palette
of my psyche.

A miasma of malaise
awaits any daring to explore
these barren badlands.

A stark white field shadowed
by fear and feral thoughts,
splashed with angry red.

Yellow bleeds through,
cheerfulness, chased by
shades of chaos.

13 Comments

Filed under Poetry, Poetry - Prompts

13 responses to “Limited Palette

  1. I commend you for your attempt at interpretation of Pollock’s painting. I wouldn’t have any idea what he is portraying unless I saw the title. Jackson Pollock’s artwork is definitely quite obscure and wouldn’t be my choice to hang in my living room! (But then again if someone gave one to me…….smiles)

  2. rosemary mint

    I love this, Mark! You did a phenomenal job. Excellent.

    Fantastic alliteration, by the way.

  3. You did a marvelous interpertation!

  4. Fabulous. I particularly commend your phrase “shades of chaos” – so very apposite.

  5. I really like your interpretation of the canvas….especially the final stanza…….a good read.

  6. Laurie Kolp

    Well, you did great as always… love this “A miasma of malaise”

  7. You have said it well Mark.

  8. Since its abstract, it really depends on your take ~ I like the colors in the your words, specially the last stanza ~

    http://a-sweetlust.blogspot.ca/2012/07/convergence.html

  9. Cheerfulness chased by shades of chaos. I think that’s my life too. And probably Pollock’s as well.

  10. Wow, you take sings…I love the colors especially how you show cased yellow… You danced with brilliance! ;D

  11. Love these lines especially, Mark:
    “A miasma of malaise”
    and
    “cheerfulness, chased by
    shades of chaos.”

    In fact, “Shades of Chaos” is just a great little phrase. Deserves a title somewhere. 😉

  12. Yeah, I echo, De (of course!!) Those lines stood out for me, too!! Really like the meaning that you gave to each color! Very cool, Mark!!

  13. Well done, Mark. I enjoyed reading yours. The different colours in it are a key point in my opinion. I hope that you’ll be able to grab a moment to read mine, also. http://miskmask.wordpress.com/2012/07/09/sedimentary-dreams/

Some of what I write is true, some is fiction; most is merely possibility.

