Memories

I remember the fire
in her eyes
when I asked her
to dance,
sopping in the pounding rain.

I remember the half smile,
as she drew designs
in spilled coffee left
in the bottom
of the saucer.

I remember watching her
bathing, languid movements
of softened skin
beneath bubbles,
emotions clear behind
closed eyes.

I will never forget
the combustible look,
anger unleashed at me
like a backhand slap,
leaving no option
for riposte.

Walking away,
leaving me hanging,
one fingered,
from the crag.

For Shawna’s Monday Melting word list.

4 Comments

Filed under Poetry, Poetry - Prompts

4 responses to “Memories

  1. rosemary mint

    Your endings are usually my absolute faves, but this time, your opening is killer! Those first two stanzas just really grabbed me. I love your very specific memories of both tender and painful moments.

  2. You had me held from start to finish thank you

  3. A salutary tale. Moral: don’t dance in the rain, she’ll always remember that you ruined her hairdo. 🙂

Some of what I write is true, some is fiction; most is merely possibility.

