Progression

Speaking Softly

change my dear, and it seems not a moment too soon

(Photo credit: Johnson Cameraface)

Lean in closer,
let your hair fall
around me
as I whisper,
for you alone to hear,
words of affection
like butterfly breath
upon your ear.

Listen closer
to the meaning
I intend,
for mere words
will fail again to
impart the depths
of the love
I feel.

English: Photograph of a Monarch Butterfly.

Butterfly Effect

I see it
feel it
live it
each time you unfold
a flutter of incense
to soothe a soul
my attracted opposite
Monarch to my tortoise
blue to my brown
delicate to my bristle
vulnerable to my guarded
beauty to my ugly
coherent
definitive
balance
reason for
life

Butterfly Effect

Butterfly Effect (Photo credit: Cali4beach)

Lingering Dream

In that half-awake state —
aware of dawn of my face
while still reveling
in my dreams —
I can feel,
soft as snow falling
through fog,
her butterfly kisses
upon my cheek,
brushed away each morning,
along with a single shed tear,
as I remember
all I will see
when greeting the day
will be the dust motes
dancing in the light
to the music of her
laughter
as it fades back
intoΒ the
night.

26 Comments

Filed under Poetry, Poetry - Prompts

26 responses to “Progression

  1. These are love poems at their finest, Mark. Just beautiful.

  2. wonderfully written poems, Lovely words about love.

  3. Oh such beauty you have written in your progression of love poems…Fantastic!

  4. Very nice, I love the way there’s a related set. My favorite passage–
    each time you unfold
    a flutter of incense
    to soothe a soul
    –beautifully-put and authentic.

  5. Ohh I feel like I have just been brushed by a butterfly – simply gorgeous – everyone – Lib

  6. Lovely, lovely poetry!

  7. Beautifully romantic, Mark… I love all three!

  8. Beautiful oems!!
    I’ve actually never thought of butterfly breath or butterfly kisses. What an interesting sense of perception.

  9. I love how one leads into the next and how delicate and lovely they are. Just like gentle butterflies.

  10. absolutely loved the butterfly trilogy.exquisitely beautiful poems.

  11. The progression so soft and beautiful and the lingering image so sad…

  12. hedgewitch

    Your progression perfectly suits the image of butterfly, delicate, beautiful, light …and never still long on one flower in its brief life. As others have said, beautiful and tender love poems.

  13. These are all lovely, and together so melancholy. I especially like the last few lines.

  14. rosemary mint

    These are my favorites:

    “Lean in closer,
    let your hair fall
    around me
    as I whisper”

    “each time you unfold
    a flutter of incense”

    “soft as snow falling
    through fog”

    • Thank you, been a little out of character lately; bunch of mushy stuff. πŸ™‚

      • rosemary mint

        Need some dark and brutal words? I have a new word list up, but I’m not sure if it’s the medicine you need. Let me know if you need something else to play with. πŸ™‚

      • think I can at least get something unhappy out of those, but maybe not dark. we’ll see. already had them copied down. πŸ˜‰

        check out the one posted before this one. a little different, lot different subject matter.

  15. “mere words will fail” for me to tell you how lovely these three poems are!

  16. 1,2,3 check check check… enjoyed the whisper

  17. awwww (she softly whispers in response) πŸ™‚

  18. beautiful mark…love the thread or flight of the butterfly that winds through these pieces….it is a wonderful kinda love…smiles.

  19. I’m enjoying the “mushy stuff, ” Mark!! Great writing!!

  20. such a lovely progression, like watching a butterfly dance… beautiful

  21. Monty

    I’m nigh envious that I can’t write the love verse like you just did πŸ™‚ nice work πŸ™‚

  22. “Butterfly Effect” is quite stunning to read, Mark.

    Pamela

Some of what I write is true, some is fiction; most is merely possibility.

