Keeping Score

She kept score,
I always knew she did,
a personality flaw,
she could not help it.

Every transgression,
slip of the tongue,
failure to kiss goodnight
or hold open a door.

All made it on her
mental tally sheet.

Her schedule of indebtedness
was fair though, caring
and consideration were given
equal, or greater, marks.

Flowers, wine and candlelight
always served to clean the slate.
Occasionally, just for fun, I would
ask, ‘What’s the score?’

She would smile and shake
her head while making a tick
mark in the air with her finger.
In which column, I did not know.

green tick graphic

 

 

 

 

 

Written for the second prompt for the

33rd Trifecta Challenge

8 Comments

Filed under Poetry, Poetry - Prompts

8 responses to “Keeping Score

  1. I do see a lot of relationships where someone keeps score. I’m grateful my husband does not. I’m always rather shocked when I feel like I accidentally just did.

  2. rosemary mint

    Love that ending. 🙂

  3. What a great ending! You make poetry seem so easy, but I know it is not. Like this!

  4. 😀 Great ending.

  5. I have a husband who thinks it a virtue never to forgive, never to forget, so I know where this poem is coming from. It would be good to think that your final thoughts woud materialise in him!I

  6. Just like a woman. 🙂 But a very forgiving one, I think, if wine, flowers, and candlelight get her man a clean slate.

  7. I really liked your poem all the way up till the last line – then I loved it. Somehow you managed to combine a sense of mystery, poignancy and even a bit of indulgent humor all in one.

Some of what I write is true, some is fiction; most is merely possibility.

