The River Spring Contest

The River Journal has honored me by selecting my poem Wounded as the winner of their spring writing contest.Stop by and check out everything they have going on.

WOUNDED

This is not me —
not what I was meant for —
in a cage of wire and wood,
tethered to the ground
and fed by hand.

I was intended to soar,
free from the constraints
of earth,
to mount the wind,
rise effortless on thermals,

to capture the power
of gravity as I plummet
silently upon my prey,
then defy its pull as I
power to the skies.

The wing feels good,
strong. Release me
so that I may fly,
hunt and
once again be free.

11 Comments

Filed under Poetry, Poetry - Prompts

11 responses to “The River Spring Contest

  1. CONGRATULATIONS!
    This is a wonderful poem, Mark.
    And this first stanza deeply transcends your subject matter:
    “This is not me โ€“
    not what I was meant for โ€“
    in a cage of wire and wood,
    tethered to the ground
    and fed by hand.”

    Wonderful.

  2. leahJlynn

    Congrats

  3. Shawna

    Very pretty. Is this your girlie persona? ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Congratulations on winning the contest. You definitely deserve it.

  4. k~

    Congratulations ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Mark, Fรฉlicitations. The joy you must feel at winning may equal the joy you felt when you wrote this poem, and I on reading it.

    The email notification that came was not set out like your introduction and I first read it that you were wounded by your selection as winner!
    Love,
    ViVx

  6. I sense metaphor, but even if not, it’s strong. caged animals are not happy animals in my heart.

Some of what I write is true, some is fiction; most is merely possibility.

