Fever

dampen the towel once more,
not too cold

Be still little one,
rest while night is upon us
and the heat of the day gone.
Toss a bit less, sleep with
pleasant dreams.
I am here.

keep your voice soothing,
assured and calm

Be still little one,
cry no more, morning shall
be with us soon. Feverous
nightmares and pain of night
shall pass with early light.
I am here.

Keep a steady hand, no tremble or fear
should the child see

Smile my little one,
hold me tight, press your
now cool cheek against mine
then go to play in the
warmth of the day.
I am here.

Fever

Fever (Photo credit: Micah Taylor)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Written for Three Word Wednesday.

9 Comments

Filed under Poetry, Poetry - Prompts

9 responses to “Fever

  1. awww… that is so lovely. My niece’s baby has been really sick this past week. Thankfully she is on the mend now. Lovely writing Mark.

  2. I have been there, and your reactions are exactly right.

  3. What a precious write about a common rite… a parent soothing ill child.

  4. lenwilliamscarver

    as the mother of three daughters I so remember those days and night. You really captured the gentleness with just the right emotion.

  5. Laurie Kolp

    So sweet, except that I’m sorry the precious one has fever.

  6. Shawna

    I hate the inspirational moments for poetry like this. It’s so scary when little ones have high fevers, especially when they cry for you to fix it. 😦

  7. Ooooooh. Sweet little hunnie. This is so sweet. Those middle of the night fevers were always so tough, heartbreaking.

  8. Aw lovely ode to a child.

Some of what I write is true, some is fiction; most is merely possibility.

