Perspective

the red roadside sign
proclaims Pain Management,
the letters stand out bright
in the brilliance of the
spring afternoon.

that is not a route for me
to contemplate. I am not
ready
to accept the concept
of pill-pushing
bottom-of-their-class
half-docs as a resource
for medical treatment.
soon enough we will
have open-pharmacy
pacification forced upon
us, and we will call it
progress.

I shall manage myself the
pain I carry, the days are
not so long, the discomfort
not so great. better a slight
twinge, here and there, than
to be a muddle-headed,
thought-stymied, creativity
drowned drone,
lacking in cognitive ability,
blocking life favorable to
inconvenience.

three in the morning, the dark
and quiet only broken as I
wander,
room to room, stretching legs,
watching out windows, waiting
for the stars to move.

opening the medicine
cabinet for the third time,
I remember
the red roadside sign.

Various pills

Various pills (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

4 Comments

Filed under Poetry

4 responses to “Perspective

  1. Shawna

    You have well captured the wide range of the mind’s convictions, even within the span of a few hours.

  2. In pain, I can’t think straight, so my choice is not your choice. You have chosen what is right for you.

    • Trust me Viv, this was in no way a condemnation of those that need medication (most nights about 4 ibuprofen send me to bed), more a comment on a system that believes that it is the first, last and only treatment option. As the last stanza shows, I am not exactly steadfast in this view.

  3. hedgewitch

    I can’t write at all on my back pills–I can’t imagine living in that kind of desensitized haze permanently out of choice-or convenience. Nor do I want to lose touch with my body’s messages either. I do feel that there is an industry to market meds just like there’s one to market iPhones, and people are often wishful enough to believe a pill will stop the kinds of pain that require work and healing instead. (of course, some have a level of pain that is an unlivable distraction itself, so that doesn’t apply here.) I like the layers you’ve worked in of responsibility and self-awareness, and that three in the morning moment resonates.

Some of what I write is true, some is fiction; most is merely possibility.

