In a Moment

In a moment of
still solitude I shall
rest my hand upon
the earth and feel
its pulse and rhythm.

In a moment of
still solitude I shall
remove the veil of
self from my eyes to
see all I have ignored.

In a moment of
still solitude I shall
hush the clamor of
hustle and bustle and
hear the wind breathe.

In a moment of
still solitude I shall
remove this protective
skin and absorb through
raw pores the essence of life.

Shall I, at that moment,
weep with the knowledge
of years of privation,
or embrace possibility
with tears of ecstasy?

solitude

solitude (Photo credit: AndyRobertsPhotos)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

For the dVerse Poets prompt from Victoria Slotto. Theme: living in the moment.

18 Comments

Filed under Poetry, Poetry - Prompts

18 responses to “In a Moment

  1. This is sublime. Thank you.

  2. A nice, quiet poem, like the theme–the repetition works well for me and the last stanza closes powerfully.

  3. To

    rest my hand upon
    the earth and feel
    its pulse and rhythm

    hear the wind breathe

    … just beautiful. The photo is like icing on the cake.

  4. I like the repetition of the first two lines in each stanza, and the departure from that repetition in the final stanza. I think it enhances the feeling of solitude. Peace, Linda

  5. The second stanza is lovely. And what a world it would be if we all embraced possibility!

  6. This should be painted on a wall, somewhere to be seen every day! Oh my this is ‘morning coffee’ good!

  7. I say embrace possibility with tears of ecstasy. And do it now.

    Great job, Mosk

  8. Shawna

    What excellent uses of the present moment:
    “rest my hand upon the earth”
    “to see all I have ignored”
    “hear the wind breathe”

  9. So beautiful, thank you.

  10. The repetition of the lines “almost” stop time. Like a repeated refrain that song makes us want to push the play button over again. I hope your answer is ecstasy!

  11. Ohhhhhh. “Hear the wind breathe.” I have never thought of it that way. LOVE. Beautiful piece.

  12. remove this protective
    skin and absorb through
    raw pores the essence of life.

    This is so “raw,” excellent take!!

  13. I shall
    remove this protective
    skin and absorb through
    raw pores the essence of life.

    Inspiring – as was it all.

  14. Nice use of the refrain to build up the tone and mood of the poem

  15. The repetition serves you well here; keeps the piece grounded as it explores life and elements that make it up. I particularly enjoyed the first stanza

  16. This is a meditation in itself. Just a lovely moment and encounter with the true you.

Some of what I write is true, some is fiction; most is merely possibility.

