Selective Memories

I remember her laugh,
deep sighs late at night,
the rickshaw ride through
Chinatown and leaving out
the Do Not Disturb sign into
the afternoon in New Orleans.

Her favorite roses were violet,
she liked root beer and loved
almonds and carob covered raisins.
She tended to hack up a cake
rather than cut into precise pieces,
lemon being better than chocolate.

All of this, and more, I can recall,
but as I sit and listen to the songs
of night things while watching the
specter of her dance and writhe
in the shadows of the fire, an image
of her face I cannot bring to mind.

Common Do not disturb sign of a hotel

Written from Shawna’s Monday Melting word list. Words to include:almond, root, fire, carob, hack, lemon, specter, violet, writhe, disturb.

8 Comments

Filed under Poetry, Poetry - Prompts

8 responses to “Selective Memories

  1. Why are memories like that? I remember that his eyes were a shifting shade of green but can’t hear his voice in my ear. Excellent work.

  2. I like the cake. the hacking rather than slicing, and lemon better than chocolate. It makes her real. i like!

  3. Shawna

    Oh man, you crack me up every time: “an image
    of her face I cannot bring to mind”

    This is my favorite bit though:
    “she liked root beer and loved
    almonds and carob covered raisins”

  4. Laurie Kolp

    Yes… memories to romanticize rather than the unpleasant ones.

    http://lkharris-kolp.blogspot.com/2012/03/specter.html

  5. I can remember the faces – it’s the names that have gone AWOL! Lovely poem.

  6. But what’s really in a face, anyway? πŸ™‚

    There seems to be a lot of that cake hacking going around — the story of my life on birthdays and such. I think they just don’t make cakes like they used to. πŸ™‚

    And I used to practically LIVE on carob coated almonds from Whole Foods. Back when I could afford such treats.

  7. I baked a cake in mine too. I love seeing whatever has done with the word list.

Some of what I write is true, some is fiction; most is merely possibility.

