Rebirth

Pull the recycling bin to the curb,
past the pruned stumps of crape myrtle
and azaleas in full bloom;
the sound of a weeks worth of beer bottles
drowns out the morning birds.
Our large pear trees have blossomed late,
seems the smaller ones always go first.

I sit in the car with my fast food lunch
watching the Jehovah’s Witnesses stalk
their prey as they emerge unsuspecting
from the discount grocery store.
The purple brilliance of a redbud offsets
the abandoned restaurant it grows beside,
discarded pamphlets proclaiming ‘Jesus
is Risen’ blow by with the pollen.

The new moon gleams through
thickening foliage on the horizon.
The rest of the house sleeps while I
watch out windows, wander halls and
channel surf, sober and sleepless.

Margo asked for a poem that focuses on a motif of our choosing. No idea if I am even close….. As usual.

Posted to the dVerse Poets open link night.

25 Comments

Filed under Poetry

25 responses to “Rebirth

  1. And as usual I was rivetted to the end. You create a very visual piece here.

  2. Yes, you do.
    Do you think we all feel unsure answering prompts? I realised that several of us say what you do. Probably because we know the poem is more important than the prompt and we have followed the poem.
    However, you have followed the prompt and achieved a strong poem. I like the speaker, his tone, his character, what he notices and what he observes. I love that you use the motif as a thread through the day. It is really cool.
    One of the things I most noticed is the strong sense of place established through the mood of each area. My favourite lines: ‘discarded pamphlets proclaiming ‘Jesus
    is Risen’ blow by with the pollen’.

    • Thank you. All in all I was pleased with how it come out. Took me a while to figure out what the motif was (maybe still defining), was it spring? The trees, the mood? So I went with “D”.

  3. Terrific poem – it is so well observed. Like you, I had difficulty with this prompt, and have not yet come up with anything at all!

  4. Mark, you have such a command of details. Not sure what the motif poem is supposed to be about, but it sure worked for you.

  5. You provide a lot of details, sights & sounds, and the tone is conversational. Good!

  6. What a fabulous poem, Mark. The motif is perfectly woven throughout.

  7. I just LOVE how you took my mind through your day! I could see it all so clearly …and even hear the beer bottles lol! If you need, I have a great recipe for a hangover! hehe BIG HUGS!

  8. I’m totally lost this evening.
    Can’t get any comments to arrive where I’d like them to.
    And now your motif has me flummoxed.
    Trees?
    Well, this comment won’t get to you anyhow, I’m sure.
    Anyway, that bin will have made a racket.

  9. I love the contrasts between the observance of nature (feeling hope) and the junk food, beer bottles, organized religion(sense of man-made disillusionment). It leaves me wondering where you stand on hope vs. disillusion….nice poem1

  10. there’s a great and smooth blend of the outer and inner world…both flowing into each other and impossible to get them apart…great capture of the mood mark..

  11. I could see every detail you painted in these words… smooth write

  12. Yup…I was sitting right there and even managed to steal a fry. What a ride! You pull us in and share the moment…fantastic weave!

  13. smiles…i like that minutia…it is what i thrive on…i like the middle stanza the best personally…but i have walked those halls before looking out those windows as well….smiles.

  14. Such a dilemma, I almost forgot which is worse alarming sleep patterns or being stalked by Jehovah’s Witnesses until your poem reminded me!

  15. Great storytelling, wonderful observation and images. I loved this whole package, Mark.

  16. Living in the deep south, I have a genuine appreciation for the imagery here….good job with this!

  17. Shawna

    I see your motif as re-cycling—the continual cycle of change that is unchanging; the same things keep happening, whether we’re talking about cycles of seasons, religion, daily life, or sleep patterns. In our choices to embrace change, we always end up cycling back to old habits and patterns, just like nature does.

    • I think you are a much deeper thinker than I. 🙂 But that is pretty much on the mark. The title, Rebirth, was mostly what I was going for; rebirth of nature in spring, the damaged soul through Christ, the drinker to sobriety. Along those lines.

  18. Love the details here, well penned! I enjoyed it!

Some of what I write is true, some is fiction; most is merely possibility.

