Another’s Rites

I pause to watch the robin perched
atop the viciously pruned crape myrtle,
surveying the partially green yards and
announcing his arrival to the females present.
Cardinals, bluejays, sparrows (and based on
my dawn awakening, an early rising woodpecker)
all vying for airspace and prime nesting spots.
Wipe the sweat, a drink of water,
grab the shovel and bend my back to
another of many loads of mulch.
I think I prefer the bird’s rites of spring.

birds

birds (Photo credit: tdietmut)

2 Comments

Filed under Poetry, Poetry - Prompts

2 responses to “Another’s Rites

  1. You’ve written a lovely Spring poem, Mark. Don’t gaden too hard – spare time just to enjoy!

Some of what I write is true, some is fiction; most is merely possibility.

