Dirty Clothes

I stand in the kitchen and hope coffee
will rinse away the taste of metal
and the shadow of woolly thoughts.
My daughter runs with the dogs,
reveling in the fullness of spring returned.
Unaware that I am watching, a white
flash of previously clean linen
caroms past the window;
the semi-warmth of the morning
enough to go coatless as she prefers.
Joy of freedom shines through the dirt —
I think I shall not admonish her today.

Written for the Sunday Whirl Wordle.

Posted to The Imaginary Garden

22 Comments

Filed under Poetry, Poetry - Prompts

22 responses to “Dirty Clothes

  1. How seamlessly you wove the wordle. Grandson took his scooter with him on our afternoon walk in near freezing and rainy Northumberland. He was wearing shorts and a T-shirt. I, on the other hand was wearing 3 layers of wool, a windproof anorak and a woolly hat.

  2. This is inspired writing, Mark. I love the flash of linen as it “caroms” past… truly a lovely poem. Your daughter (or the narrator’s) captures the moment, and exposes your heart. A tender piece. Thank you.

  3. Such a warm slice of life you have painted here. Very smooth use of the wordle words. Made me feel happy to read this.

  4. There’s a very special freedom in occasionally stopping ourselves from admonishing. Can relate very well.

  5. A tender write, Mark. As Viv says, it is seamless.

    Pamela

  6. I love that opening sentence…a daily ritual for me!! 😉

    Nicely done!

  7. A great gift to leave off admonishing. I wonder how much of the creative spirit is hindered by those trying to keep the world clean. You wrote this wordle perfectly. Such a comforting piece.

  8. i’ve been working on stepping back from admonishing. this resonates! also, bonus points for “caroms.” 🙂

  9. Holy cow. What a seemingly effortless weaving of the words, Mark. Goodness. How’d you DO that?

  10. I enjoyed the hopeful sound of spring returning and especially love the “joy of freedom”. Can see the girl, joyously running. Lovely.

  11. Oh, what a morning! I especially loved the coatless girl. I was one of those…

  12. Oh, don’t admonish her, please… And oh, the fulness of spring and the fulness of youth – beautiful to read, and who would have thought this was a wordle poem? Love it!

  13. I love this poem, so tender and full of the hope spring always seems to bring. Especially love the line “Joy of freedom shines through the dirt.” I think that can be used to describe lots of daughters (and sons!)

  14. Certainly sunshine and warmth are more important than staying clean.

  15. How beautifully tender not to admonish someone who runs with the dogs.,,even if the clothes ARE dirtied. Life is too short.

  16. In total agreement about that decision. What a great scene to wake up to. Those little moments seem to few…although I am sure they are happening around me by the millions everyday if my eyes were open to whats important. Great write.

  17. Very well done. I haven’t tried a wordle yet. I can’t imagine writing a poem using so many specified words, but you’ve done a masterful job.
    I agree with Mary, life is too short—and especially childhood is too short— for dirty clothes to take precedence over joy.
    K

  18. Love this! Love this! Love this!

  19. Shawna

    Awww, I love that last night! Those moments are so precious … when you realize how full of life they are, how much of a treasure. And so you take it easy on them for a while. Until they do something really rotten, at least. 🙂

Some of what I write is true, some is fiction; most is merely possibility.

