Proper Planning

I really don’t know where this came from; some morbid area of imagination I have not touched on before. Anyway, Rosemary Mint in week two of her new Monday Melting prompts posted two list of words to choose from. When I saw the first one all that kept going through my mind was some Discovery Channel show i had seen about a murdered mummy being turned up in a peat bog. So this is what came out.

Since early times it has been de rigueur
for the planning of the perfect crime
to include the disposal of the body.
Each miscreant has their favorite method,
subject to the anima of personality
and the frail trait of sudden, panicked regret.
Many prefer to char the inconvenient corpse,
having a dreadful dearth of imagination –
or fascination for watching skin melt like wax.
I prefer a more civilized approach,
a decent burial in the damp marsh,
far from where the farmers dig for peat.
There are nights when I sit with my victims,
to watch their ghost percolate with the gases,
and marvel at the timbre of their wailing song.
13 Comments

Filed under Poetry, Poetry - Prompts

13 responses to “Proper Planning

  1. Ye Gods and little fishes: what did you have for supper to provoke that lot?

  2. Shawna definitely gave us quite the word lists! I though you used the first wonderfully! (but I am not at all objectionable to morbid) Wonderful prompt play. I took from each and came up with something more ghostly than morbid..but we certainly shared the same “vibe”. Well done, Poet!

  3. Shawna

    This is completely awesome. I love it. 🙂 I was cracking up through the entire reading. I think these prompts are fun because they provoke a write different than your norm. Doesn’t it feel good?

    These are some of my favorite lines:
    “Many prefer to char the inconvenient corpse”
    “or fascination for watching skin melt like wax” … What a fantastically creative way to include the word “wax”!

    The closing is definitely my favorite part; such powerful visuals:
    “There are nights when I sit with my victims,
    to watch their ghost percolate with the gases,
    and marvel at the timbre of their wailing song.”

    I’m thoroughly impressed. Now you can blame your “craziness” on my prompt. I have a feeling you enjoyed this, Mark. 🙂

  4. bwhaha…nice…love the bit of a spine tingle from this…the sitting with the victims at night is a bit of a scary bit….ha…some really nice lines in this…

  5. I had remembered that same unfortunate in the peat bog, too.

  6. Pingback: Unspoken | Awakened Words

  7. Anne Katherine

    I’m a true crime junkie, so I completely related to this one. “A civilized approach” – ha! Also liked – “frail trait of sudden, panicked regret.”

  8. Scriptor Obscura

    This poem reminds me of this movie based on the real life true story of a serial killer in England, who was later hanged for his crimes. The man is portrayed brilliantly by the British actor Martin Clunes. Here is more information about the movie, should you care to see it or to read more about it if you want to: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0327392/ The movie is called A is For Acid. It is a shocking and horrifying movie, made all the more so by the fact that the actor Martin Clunes is well-known for playing a beloved although gruffly mannered doctor in the highly popular British TV series called Doc Martin (you can find more info about that series here: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0408381/, it is excellent as well!)
    Excellent poem, and powerful, chilling writing here! You are a great writer.

Some of what I write is true, some is fiction; most is merely possibility.

