Explosions

I have reached a place in life
Where I now experience the
Beginnings of the great paradox
Of the collision of the unstoppable
Force and the immovable object.
Nothing so grandiose or auspicious
As time marching across my face –
Much more disturbing and frightening
Is this spark between hammer and anvil
That result in the violent explosions of the
Force that is my pre-teen daughter meeting
Head-on the immovable object of my wife.

 

Written for the Poetic Asides Wednesday prompt.

3 Comments

Filed under Poetry, Poetry - Prompts

3 responses to “Explosions

  1. I laughed at the end, which really took me aback. I don’t know if you meant it to be that way, but I really liked it.

  2. All too true! I had no trouble with daughter, but son was unlivable with from 10-20. He’s nearly 50 now, and a thoroughly nice human being, so don’t despair.

Some of what I write is true, some is fiction; most is merely possibility.

