Counterpoint

Kellie Elmore posted a fantastic poem today. As I read it I kept thinking of the other person. No where as good as hers, but maybe the other side of the story….

I Could not Look Her in the Eye.

It was all I could do to face her,
to tell her in person,
the words burn like acid
as they claw from my throat,
destroying me as I
watch them crush her.
 
More than I could bear,
‘over’ like a death knell.
Turning away, I can hear
the whispered “why?”
she never lets escape.
But I will not –
can not –
tell her what I had done.
5 Comments

Filed under Poetry

5 responses to “Counterpoint

  1. WOW!!!! Thank you!!! This is fantastic! I am sharing this on my Facebook page! So happy I could inspire such a remarkable piece as it is FAR better than mine! LOVE IT!!! I also love how you played the role, as if he too was heart broken! 🙂

    Kellie

  2. I can feel this piece …and the emotion is poignant in the last two lines… The heartbreak is evident. Love it!

  3. Both you and Kellie have written powerful pieces … well done!

Some of what I write is true, some is fiction; most is merely possibility.

