Wordle #37 Response

My first attempt at a ‘Wordle’ from the Sunday Whirl.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Winter Blues
Leaving the yarn to the cats,
Too distracted for stitches.
The deep winter cold unabated
By the fire and oversized sweaters.
Snow much greater than expected,
No stop in the wind’s howling,
My thoughts accumulate like the drifts –
Pondering the frozen plum tree
Starkly visible through my window.
Wondering at its ability to renew and bloom
After all apparent loss of life.
Tomorrow I will brave the world once more,
Shovel a path to the mailbox again
In hopes of proving that I matter
By finding it filled with letters from friends.
12 Comments

Filed under Poetry, Poetry - Prompts

12 responses to “Wordle #37 Response

  1. All I can say is that the trouble you went through to arrive at this poem is worth it. This has legs, Mark.

    margo

  2. Welcome to Sundays at the Whirl, Mark. So glad you found us. You take us from the starkness of empty branches to hopes for renewal, and connection. I look forward to reading more of your work.

  3. Welcome to the Whirl, Mark. Your poem is excellent; I’ve often felt the things you express here. I look forward to reading more from you.

  4. you paint a great picture of the winter

  5. magicalmysticalteacher

    Although the poem starts on a note of despair, it ends on a note of hope—and lifts my spirits!

    A Whirl of Haiku

  6. Irene

    Nice shovelling.

  7. Thank you all for reading and for your kind words.

  8. This is marvelous! Well done!

  9. This is wonderful, Mark. It is nice to see you joining us at the whirl.

    Happy 2012
    Pamela

  10. I love this, Mark! What a GREAT first wordle for you.

    There are so many great lines, but I especially liked:
    Wondering at its ability to renew and bloom
    After all apparent loss of life.

    As soon as I read those lines I realized there have been times I’ve felt like that frozen plum tree…even recently. What hope there is in knowing that renewal and even the ability to bloom is still there, even after an apparent loss of life.

    By the way — I left a reply to your comment on margo’s blog (in case you didn’t see it).

    Happy New Year!
    ~Paula

  11. Happy and sweet. I enjoyed the picture it created in my mind. Thanks for joining us.

  12. Mark, this is wonderful and the last lines are so hopeful.

Some of what I write is true, some is fiction; most is merely possibility.

