She Laughed

Response to the Magpie Tales prompt using this photo:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

She laughed at me
When I tried to save her.

 

She hid it well from those
That did not know her;
Those that did she kept away.
Hair was always perfect,
Skin smooth, teeth straight, white.
But, to those that knew…
The laugh was too often –
The eyes just not as bright.

 

She laughed at me
When I tried to save her.

 

She could not be bothered
With our pedestrian opinions;
She was a STAR!
The fame was too important,
Lifestyle and friends and fitting in –
Needles and blow, parties and gin.

 

She laughed at me
When I tried to save her.

 

Her fans were all stunned
News coverage non-stop:
How could this happen?
Why did she not get help?
The graveside was a spectacle,
All weeping perfection in black.

 

She laughed at me
When I tried to save her.
4 Comments

Filed under Poetry, Poetry - Prompts

4 responses to “She Laughed

  1. caterpillarpangs

    Reblogged this on caterpillarpangs.

  2. She *did* laugh……probably right to the end……….

    Nice capture!

  3. Helen

    Great Magpie …

Some of what I write is true, some is fiction; most is merely possibility.

