Dance

Overindulgent, sure, but could not resist a second offering for the dVerse prompt.

I shall wear red and
Dance barefoot in the rain.

 

No longer shall I care
About the weather,
Nor my surroundings
Or let them sway my mood.
The same will I feel about people,
Their judgments and opinions
And incredulous stares.

 

No.

 

Instead, when the urge
Is upon me,
Down cobblestone streets,
Past darkened doorways
Full of scowling, sour faces,
 
Laughing,

 

I shall wear red and
Dance barefoot in the rain.

©MarkWindham2001

12 Comments

Filed under Poetry, Poetry - Prompts

12 responses to “Dance

  1. nice…barefoot is the best…and i love dancing in the rain…you know it is as simple as that…a decision to do it…nice write mark…and indulge all you want…smiles.

  2. enjoyed it,
    dancing bare feet in the rain is cool imagery.

  3. Angela

    Loved these first few lines:

    I shall wear red and
    Dance barefoot in the rain.

    No longer shall I care
    About the weather,
    Nor my surroundings
    Or let them sway my mood.

    I thought these were wonderful, speaking of so much with so few words.

  4. you capture the atmosphere of her independence from circumstances..same what i felt when i saw the pic..

  5. This captures the spirit of the image – exactly.

  6. We all need a day of dancing in the rain

  7. I shall wear red and
    Dance barefoot in the rain.

    I may like this one even better! Thank you again.

  8. I find the poem inspiring. Leaving world to its ends and making most of your life. Like it.

  9. Shawna

    What a great attitude; I shall meditate on this myself:

    “No longer shall I care
    About the weather,
    Nor my surroundings
    Or let them sway my mood.”

  10. Yes, indeed. This painting screams freedom to me, too.

Some of what I write is true, some is fiction; most is merely possibility.

