Tip Toes

It

Happens

Whenever

My little girl

Is kissing my cheek

Up on tiptoe to reach.

Or my son stretching to prove

He is nearly as tall as me.

Both a bit taller than yesterday.

It happens again whenever we kiss,

Up on your toes, arms around my neck,

Putting us right at eye level,

And I know that I love you

More than I did before.

I watch them growing

Holding you close

And my heart

Skips a

Beat

Two small children kissing.
Image via Wikipedia

© Mark Windham 2011

7 Comments

Filed under Poetry, Poetry - Prompts

7 responses to “Tip Toes

  1. oh yes, oh yes i know exactly how that feels. so beautiful, thank you for sharing this little glimmer.

  2. This feels, and reads, so right. Love this. Wonderful.

  3. This is sweet and full of love…

    and congrats on the M:/P Mag feature ~

  4. LOVE IT … feel it right down to counting out each syllable 🙂 Awesome write 😀

  5. very nice! I like diamond poems, the expanding and imploding nature of the syllables and words – nicely done here too!

  6. BRAVO! Love the poem (I live it) and the that image so sweet! I showed my son this photo (4 yr old) and he said “that’s me and Jenna!” (his little friend) ha ha.

Some of what I write is true, some is fiction; most is merely possibility.

